New arisaemas

02.04.2013 22:35

Last week I received a shipment of new arisaemas. I had intended to plant bulbs in the garden, but some of them were already sprouting, namely A. nepenthoides and A. griffithii var. pradhanii. Because the weather is bad I planted them in the pots. I had a bad experience with the cultivation of these species yet. The tubers in one season always rotten in the pot. So I was inspired by the advice of Udai C. Pradhan´s book “Himalayan Cobra-Lilies (Arisaema) Their Botany and Culture” and I filled the pots halfway with crushed polystyrene. Then I poured a thin layer of coarsely crushed bark into a pot. I put a tuber on the layer and filled up a pot with substrate. I mixed substrate of light peat, compost and gravel (grain size 4-6 mm) in the ratio 3:1:1. I incorporate into the substrate preparation Substral CAREO (against soil and other pests) and crushing charcoal (as a disinfectant).

So we will see how arisaemas do well in pots this year….